About Us

Our Mission

Our mission is to prevent disease, promote healthy lifestyles and protect the health of everyone in Wood County.


Our Vision

Our vision is to provide the highest level of service and leadership to be the healthiest county in Ohio.

Values and Beliefs

  • We believe our guiding principles are The 10 Essential Public Health Services. (The Center for Disease Control and Prevention created The 10 Essential Public Health Services to describe the public health activities that all communities should carry out.)
  • We believe that health is more than life without disease.
  • We believe that quality of life along with life expectancy of people in Wood County should affect our actions.
  • We believe investments in public health will save future costs through prevention.
  • We believe our role is to assure health equity. This means we believe everyone should have access to healthcare and information for the areas of their health that can be controlled or treated.
  • We believe health encompasses all aspects of the person including their environment.
  • We believe community and environmental health needs are always changing.
  • We value a strong collaborative relationship among board members, management, community partners and staff.
  • We believe in fostering a culture of continuous quality improvement.


Created in 1920, the Wood County Health Department has a long history of protecting its citizens.


“Each member had a vision that the main purpose of all health work is to apply scientific knowledge to the conditions of our environments that disease may be prevented and the physical powers of the people be increased at a minimum of inconvenience and expense to the taxpayer of the county. The ideal of Public Health work is to create an organization that will secure to every citizen whatever his condition and wherever his residence, the right to a sound body and good health.”


     – excerpts from the first Board of Health Meeting, 1920


Today we serve more than 120,000 Wood County residents. Guided by the Board of Health Members, the Health Commissioner and the employees of Wood County Health Department operate on a $7,000,000 annual budget.

Health Commissioner

The Board of Health appointed Benjamin Robison, MPH as the Wood County Health Commissioner in 2020.

Board of Health

The Board of Health of the Wood County General Health District currently meets on the second Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room at the Wood County Health Department, unless otherwise noted on the calendar below.

We recognize the value of public comment on issues and the importance of allowing members of the public to express themselves on matters of community interest and set aside a period at the beginning of every regular meeting of the Board for public participation. Please review our Public Participation Policy ahead of time if you plan to attend.

Board of Health Meeting Schedule



  • Dallas Ziegler, Chair
  • Rachel Bowlus
  • Kim Hertzfeld
  • Susan Yoder
  • Tom Milbrodt


  • Nilgun Sezginis, Chair
  • DJ Mears
  • Richard Strow
  • Tom Milbrodt
  • Bob Midden
  • Cathy Nelson


  • Tom Milbrodt, President
  • Nilgun Sezginis, Vice President
  • Dallas Ziegler, Personnel Chair

Thomas Milbrodt, President

Medical Doctor
Appointed by District Advisory Council
First appointed 03/15
Current term ends 03/28
Resides in Bowling Green
✉ E-mail

Nilgun Sezginis
Vice President

UT Professor
Appointed by Northwood Mayor
First Appointment 03/13
Current Term Ends 2025
Resides in Northwood

Rachel Bowlus

Appointed by District Advisory Council
First appointed 03/21
Current term ends 03/26
Resides in Perrysburg

DJ Mears

Agricultural Conservationist
Appointed by District Advisory Council
First Appointment 03/13
Current Term Ends 2024
Resides in Portage

Bob Midden

Retired BGSU Chemistry Professor
Appointed by Bowling Green Mayor
First Appointment 07/19
Current Term Ends 2028
Resides in Bowling Green
✉ E-mail

Kim Hertzfeld

Physical Therapist
Appointed by Perrysburg Mayor
First appointed 11/21
Current term ends 2024
Resides in Perrysburg
✉ E-mail

Cathleen Nelson,

Retired Healthcare Executive
Appointed by District Advisory Council
First appointed 03/15
Current term ends 03/25
Resides in Bowling Green ✉ E-mail

Richard Strow

Appointed by District Advisory Council
First appointed 03/12
Current term ends 2024
Resides in Custar


Susan Yoder

Appointed by Rossford Mayor
First appointed 01/22
Current term ends 2026
Resides in Rossford

Dallas F. Ziegler

Industry and Education
Appointed by District Advisory Council
First appointed 03/05
Current term ends 03/27
Resides in North Baltimore